With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin Book Review

With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin is Book 1 in the Wings of the Nightingale series.

With Every Lettter

Lt. Mellie Blake is looking forward to beginning her training as a flight nurse. She is not looking forward to writing a letter to a man she’s never met–even if it is anonymous and part of a morale-building program. Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa, welcomes the idea of an anonymous correspondence–he’s been trying to escape his infamous name for years.

As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other’s true identity. When both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?

Combining a flair for romance with excellent research and attention to detail, Sarah Sundin vividly brings to life the perilous challenges of WWII aviation, nursing–and true love.

Link to buy the book: http://ow.ly/dyzz0 (Not my affiliate link)


Meet Sarah:

Sarah Sundin received the 2011 Writer of the Year Award from the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference, and her second novel A Memory Between Us is a finalist for an Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award. Her stories are inspired by her great-uncle who flew with the U.S. Eighth Air Force in England during World War II. Sarah lives in California with her husband and three children. www.sarahsundin.com  Find out more about Sarah at http://www.sarahsundin.com/.


My With Every Letter Book Review:

This book is a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The story follows Mellie as she trains to be a flight nurse. She is asked by her boss to write an anonymous letter to a soldier. She agrees to do it one time. To her surprise, the soldier writes back. He wants to continue writing, but to keep everything anonymous. Since Mellie is so shy and doesn’t want him to know the real her, she agrees.

Without giving away too much of the story, they become great friends and eventually meet. At first they don’t know who the other is, but one of them figures out who the other is. They don’t reveal it, though. So they continue writing, with one knowing who the other is, and one not knowing. As you can imagine, this leads to some misunderstandings. I don’t want to give away the ending, so I’ll stop. :)  I’m now anxiously waiting for Book 2!

See what others are saying about With Every Letter by visiting the Litfuse Group Blog Tour Landing Page.



Celebrate with Sarah by entering to win a eReader (winner’s choice of Kindle Fire or Nook Color)!

See what folks are saying about With Every Letter!


One fortunate winner will receive:


  • A Kindle Fire or Nook Color (winner’s choice)
  • Handmade With Every Letter First Aid Kit
  • With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on September 26th. Winner will be announced at the “With Every Letter” Author Chat Facebook Party on 9/27. Connect with Sarah, get a sneak peek of her next book, try your hand at a trivia contest, and chat with readers just like yourself. There will also be gift certificates, books and a Book Club Prize Pack to be won (10 copies for your book club or small group)!

So grab your copy of With Every Letter and join Sarah on the evening of the September 27th for a chance to connect with Sarah and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book – don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter

Don’t miss a moment of the RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 27th!


Be Sociable, Share!

Speak Your Mind


CommentLuv badge


  1. Linda – thank you so much for the lovely review. I’m glad you liked Tom & Mellie’s story. Book 2 – On Distant Shores – comes out June 2013 :)


  1. […] Shores is book Two in the Wings of the Nightingale series. You can read my review of Book One, With Every Letter. On Distant Shores picks up where With Every Letter ended. Set in 1943, you follow the characters […]